The GSA launches the Global Sepsis Awards

Sepsis affects around 30 million people and causes over 8 million deaths each year. The Global Sepsis Alliance and the World Sepsis Day supporters are working to achieve the goal of reducing the number of sepsis cases by 20% and improving survival by 10% by the year 2020.

Consistent with this goal and the further aims of the World Sepsis Declaration, the ‚Global Sepsis Awards’ honour excellence in sepsis awareness and education initiatives, recognizing major achievements of representatives of governments, organizations, and individuals.

The Global Sepsis Awards are sponsored by the Erin Kay Flatley Memorial Foundation and are awarded in three categories:

1) Representatives of governments and health care authorities who have made important contributions to reduce the death toll from sepsis by originating or endorsing effective sepsis initiatives and programs on a national or global level will be honoured with a recognition plaque.

2) Nongovernmental organizations and patient advocate groups or healthcare provider groups that have contributed to the reduction of the burden of sepsis by increasing sepsis awareness and/or initiating quality improvement programs for sepsis prevention and management on the local, regional, national or international level. This honour includes a monetary award of 6000 US-Dollar.

3) Individual nominees whose exemplary work has contributed to sustainable changes in practices or programs for sepsis prevention, early recognition, treatment, or rehabilitation from long term consequences of sepsis. This honour includes a monetary award of 4000 US-Dollar.

The deadline for applications is February 15th 2015.

Full terms and conditions of application are available here:

Award information:

For informal inquiries, contact:

Please send applications with the keyword “Global Sepsis Awards” as pdf-file to:

Nach oben scrollen