SAVE THE DATE: GBM / DGZ Joint Fall Conference 2019

Understanding the process of aging has always been a topic of fundamental interest in science. As life expectancy rises, so do age-associated human diseases. Biomedical research thus focuses on ways to extend the health span in human, hence aims to delay or restore age-related cellular alterations. Autophagy, an essential cellular survival program, is modulated during the aging process and contributes in important ways to age-related human diseases.
The goal of this joint conference is to bring together leading experts, students, young investigators and industry representatives to address recent discoveries on the topic of age-related human diseases, focusing on the role of autophagy in human pathologies.

Topics covered at the GBM / DGZ fall conference 2019 will include cancer, neurodegeneration, immunity, and metabolism, as well as the molecular mechanism of autophagy.
We expect that this conference will explore new collaborative opportunities to enhance our understanding of molecular mechanisms of age-related human diseases, ultimately aiming to develop rational therapies targeting e.g. autophagy in particular pathological conditions.

On the evening preceding the conference, we will have a Scientific Outreach session with an open public lecture to be held in German.
During the conference prestigious awards, including the Otto Warburg Medal, will be given and special keynote lectures will highlight the main topics of the conference.

Please save the date and join us in Tübingen!
More information is available on the website
Registration and abstract submission is possible via the conference website.

Important deadlines:
Early registration ends May 31, 2019
Abstract submission ends June 30, 2019

List of confirmed speakers:

• Anne Bertolotti, MRC Laborytory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK
• Patricia Boya, Centro de Investigaciones Biológicas – CIB, Madrid, Spain
• Maria Isabel Colombo, Universidad Nacional de Cuyo, Mendoza, Argentina
• Ivan Dikic, Goethe University, Frankfurt, Germany
• Eeva-Liisa Eskelinen, Universities of Helsinki and Turku, Helsinki, Finland
• Gillian Griffiths, Cambridge Institute for Medical Research, Cambridge, UK
• Marcus Groettrup, University of Konstanz, Germany
• Marja Jäättelä, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
• Heinz Jungbluth, King’s College London, UK
• Daniel Klionsky, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA
• Nicholas Ktistakis, Babraham Institute, Cambridge, UK
• Frank Madeo, University of Graz, Austria
• Fulvio Reggiori, University Medical Center, Groningen, Groningen, The Netherlands
• David Rubinsztein, Cambridge Institute for Medical Research, Cambridge, UK
• Kevin Ryan, The Beatson Institute, Glasgow, UK
• Sharon Tooze, The Francis Crick Institute, London, UK
• Richard Youle, National Institutes of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, Bethesda, USA
• Marino Zerial, Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden, Germany

Otto Warburg Award:
• Marina Rodnina, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, Germany

contact for scientific information:
Prof. Dr. Tassula Proikas-Cezanne
Research Group „Autophagy“
Department of Molecular Biology
Interfaculty Institute for Cell Biology
University of Tuebingen
Auf der Morgenstelle 15
72076 Tuebingen

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top