RWTH Aachen Names New RWTH Fellows

The goal of the RWTH Fellows program is to honor outstanding professors at RWTH Aachen with excellent research achievements that have significantly contributed to the University’s success. The RWTH Fellows distinction was introduced as part of the Place to Be measure within the framework of the Excellence Initiative. It carries an award of 40,000 Euros which can be used for research.

RWTH rector Ernst Schmachtenberg und vice-rector Doris Klee presented the appointment certificates to the new fellows at the Melaten Talks 2015 event. Furthermore, at the event, Professor Margret Wintermantel, president of the German Academic Exchange Service DAAD and member of the RWTH Board of Governors, gave a talk titled “University Internationalization Strategies – Expectations and Challenges.”

Representing a Wide Range of Research

The six new RWTH Fellows represent a wide range of disciplines and research areas: Dirk Abel is director of the Institute of Automatic Control, Christiane Kuhl is head of the department of diagnostic and interventional radiology at University Hospital Aachen.

Hubertus Murrenhoff is head of the Institute for Fluid Power Drives and Controls; Rolf Roissant is director of the Anaesthesiology Clinic at Aachen University Hospital.

Jochen M. Schneider is chair of materials chemistry at RWTH Aachen; Rainer Waser is head of the Electronic Materials Research Lab (EMRL), which consists of the RWTH Institute of Materials in Electrical Engineering II and the Institute of Electronic Materials at Forschungszentrum Jülich.

Maria Tojcic
Exploratory Research Space
Phone: +49 241 8020794

Nach oben scrollen