Nobel laureate Thomas Südhof and genomics expert Alan Shuldiner join the Scientific Advisory Board

Thomas Südhof has been connected to BIH since 2014 as an Einstein BIH Visiting Fellow. He is working with Christian Rosenmund of Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin on a BIH research project into how nerve cells communicate with each other in patients afflicted by neurological disorders. Alan R. Shuldiner is a specialist in age-related diseases such as type 2 diabetes. He works at the University of Maryland as, among other things, Director of the Program for Personalized and Genomic Medicine.

“We are delighted to have gained two exceptional physicians and researchers for the Scientific Advisory Board,” says Erwin Böttinger, Chief Executive Officer of. “I expect Alan Shuldiner and Thomas Südhof to make very valuable contributions to the further development of the BIH, particularly in the field of personalized medicine.”

The Scientific Advisory Board advises the BIH’s Executive Board and Supervisory Board in the planning, implementation, development and evaluation of the research program. Members are appointed by the Supervisory Board for a period of four years.

The current members of the Berlin Institute of Health’s Scientific Advisory Board are:

Prof. Jörg Hacker, German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina (Halle, Germany) (Chair)
Prof. Veronica van Heyningen University of Edinburgh/Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine (Edinburgh, UK) (Vice Chair)
Prof. Robert C. Bast, Jr., M.D., University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center (Houston, USA)
Prof. Ewan Birney, EMBL-European Bioinformatics Institute (Hinxton/Cambridge, UK)
Prof. Leena Bruckner-Tudermann, Universitätsklinik für Dermatologie und Venerologie Freiburg (Freiburg, Germany)
Prof. Alastair Buchan, Medical School and Medical Sciences Division, University of Oxford (UK)
Prof. Amanda Fisher, Institute of Clinical Science, Imperial College London (London, UK)
Prof. Matthias Hentze, European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) (Heidelberg, Germany)
Prof. J. Larry Jameson, M.D. Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania/Perelman School of Medicine (Pennsylvania, USA)
Prof. Maria Leptin, European Molecular Biology Organisation (EMBO), European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) (Heidelberg, Germany)
Prof. Sibrand Poppema, University of Groningen (Groningen, NL)
Prof. Alan R. Shuldiner, University of Maryland School of Medicine (Baltimore, USA)
Prof. Thomas C. Südhof, Stanford University School of Medicine (Stanford, USA)

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top