Helmholtz International Fellow Award presented to five outstanding scientists

“Cooperation with the world’s best researchers is a key objective of the Helmholtz Association’s international activities. That is why we established the Helmholtz International Fellow Award,” says Otmar D. Wiestler, President of the Helmholtz Association. “We intend this award to further intensify international cooperation. I’d like to wholeheartedly congratulate the five prizewinners who have now been chosen. They are all making exceptional contributions to fields of research that are central to the work of our research association.” In addition to receiving prize money of €20,000, the winners will also be invited to conduct research at one or more Helmholtz Centers.

The five senior scientists selected to receive the Helmholtz International Fellow Award in the current round of nominations come from the United States, France, Israel, and Cyprus:

• Constantia Alexandrou
Professor of Theoretical Physics, University of Cyprus; Institute Professor, Cyprus Institute, Cyprus,
nominated by Deutsches Elektronen-Synchotron (DESY)

• Luc Dupuis
Research Director, Inserm, France
nominated by the German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases (DZNE)

• Kate Maher
Associate Professor, Department of Earth System Sciences, Stanford University, USA
nominated by the Helmholtz Centre Potsdam – GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences and Forschungszentrum Jülich

• David Cahen
Professor of Chemistry and Materials Research, Department of Materials and Interfaces, Weizmann Institute, Israel
nominated by the Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB) and Forschungszentrum Jülich

• Kristie Ebi
Professor of Global Health, Department of Global Health, University of Washington, USA
nominated by the Helmholtz Center Geesthacht, Centre for Material and Coastal Research (HZG)

“The diversity of their projects illustrates very clearly what international cooperation can achieve when it comes to solving the major challenges of our times,” says Helmholtz President Wiestler. “We hope that this year’s prize winners will also continue to be active ambassadors for close international cooperation.”

The award, which is financed by the Helmholtz President’s Initiative and Networking Fund, has been presented twice a year since 2012. The Helmholtz Executive Committee selects the prize winners from nominations submitted by Helmholtz Centers. The next and, for the moment, final round of nominations is expected to be launched in January 2020.

For further information, please visit: https://www.helmholtz.de/aktuell/aktuelle_ausschreibungen/artikel/artikeldetail/helmholtz_international_fellow_award/

Scroll to Top